Surprise, Surprise!

Over the past week, I did something I’ve been trying to do for several months now. Without even realizing it.

I’ve started writing every day.

You hear that the best writers write every day. And I know this advice isn’t for every one. But I suspect it works for most of us.

If you’re passionate about something, you make time for it every day.

For the past week, I’ve been writing posts for this blog, finishing my long hand outlines for my NaNoWriMo novel and working on my short story for the Write To Done contest (more on that next time).

I’m not boasting, I’m not trying to sound smug. But I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t proud of myself.

Because at the end of the day, I stopped think about what I wanted to do, I stopped talking about how cool it would be to do it and I just…did it.

It’s not perfect. It’s definitely writing in the cracks. Right now, I’m writing this post as my middle child keeps whining to get his older brother in trouble. I think I can ignore him long enough to get this post done.

(Oh wait, I have to get up and separate them now…)

But the point is, I accomplished a goal that seemed elusive. There was no ‘Hallelujah’ chorus and adoring angels didn’t come spilling out the sky.

Because at the end of the day, it’s not that deep. And that’s refreshing. Because that means following my dream is not a Herculean task.

I didn’t have to wait until I was getting a good night’s sleep every night, or to feel 110% confident about my talent as a writer, or for Mercury to travel in retrograde while Saturn is ascending.

I just did it. There’s no magic, no secret formula.

If you find yourself constantly talking about what you want to do, or thinking obsessively about it, stop.

And just do it.

Identify the most basic step you need start with, shrug and say ‘Okay’.

Because when you treat it like an ordinary task, there’s no need to orchestrate a big production around it, and you’ll feel less anxious.

And before you know it, you’ll be doing it. You’ll be taking small, but definite steps towards your dream.

Try it, loves. See what happens.

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

