NaNoWriMo 2014

What have I done?

I signed up for NaNoWriMo 2014 (you can find me here) earlier this week. I’ve done the camp twice, in 2012 and this past summer, but I’ve never won. If I’m being honest, that’s because I never took it seriously.

But this year is different. I have a book that’s burning to get out, so I figured, ‘What the hell?’ and went on ahead and created a new account. Fresh start and all. I took the time and filled out my profile, and I went to the forums and met some cool people. And saw a bunch of ideas for books I can’t wait to read.

All’s well and good. Until I tried to change my word count goal…

Turns out that unlike Camp NaNoWriMo, you can’t set your own word count. 50,000 or bust, baby.

I panicked.

First off, November is probably the busiest month of the year for me. I have my oldest child’s birthday, Thanksgiving (of which I do all the cooking and baking), prepping for my husband’s birthday the following month and, of course, Christmas. And this year, we’ll be visiting family a week before Thanksgiving.

I’m nuts.

See, I thought that I could set a ‘doable’ goal of 15,000 to 20,000 words, which works out to approximately 500-700 words a day. But now, I’m going to be writing about 2000 words a day (I like rounding up).

I must not like what little sanity I have left.

But see, this is a challenge. This is me, putting my money where my mouth is. How badly do I want this? I’ve been talking my husband’s ear off about this book since August, and now it’s time for me to act. If I can make it through this month, with all the busyness and potential stress, I’ll know that I can do it. I’ve already come up with some ideas to help me to successfully completely NaNoWriMo, which I’ll talk about in another post.

But I can do it. Yes, I can. It won’t be easy, but I can honestly say I’m committed to doing it.

That’s all for now, loves. Oh, and please let’s observe a moment of silence for what’s left of my sanity.

Leave a Reply

